Defensive Driving Information and Class Schedules

Up to 85 percent of all traffic accidents are due to human error. But you can learn how to prevent most types of traffic accidents, from nicks and bumps to fatal crashes, regardless of road conditions and the actions of others.

Our Defensive Driving Course is approved by the National Safety Council (opens new window) and offered in Memphis and the surrounding areas. This course will teach you a better way to drive through a program that is clear-cut and memorable.

We have four (4) hour and eight (8) hour classes depending on your needs. See the schedules and costs for each type below.

Fall 2017 Class Schedules

Alive at 25 Class Schedule

Alive at 25 is a highly interactive course that helps young adults under the age of 25 take greater responsibility for their driving by focusing on behavior, judgment, and decision making. These courses are offered at participating local area high schools and the Macon Cove Campus. Courses at the Macon Cove Campus are hosted in the Fulton Building, Room 218 at the following schedule.

Alive at 25 Class Schedule
Date/Day Time Class Code Number
October 7/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. 90-4044-KSG17U001
November 4/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. 90-4044-KSG17U002
December 16/ Saturday 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. 90-4044-KSG17U003

Four (4) Hour Class Schedule

Certified instructors will teach you how to improve your driving ability in only four (4) hours of classroom instructions. If you have been referred to attend a Defensive Driving Course by the Municipal Court of Memphis, Shelby County or the State of Tennessee, our course meets the requirements set forth by the courts.

Cost

The course fee is $35 and due at registration. All classes will be held at the Macon Cove Campus.

Defensive Driving Four (4) Hour Class Schedule
Date/Day Time Class Code Number
September 14/Thursday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U004
September 23/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U005
September 28/Thursday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U006
October 5/Thursday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U007
October 18/Wednesday 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U008
October 30/Monday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U009
November 11/Saturday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U010
November 29/Wednesday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U011
December 9/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U012
December 19/Tuesday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4040-KSG17U013

Eight (8) Hour Class Schedule

This course gives individuals the opportunity to observe bad driving habits and then learn the correct driving methods. The eight (8) hour course is offered to drivers who have been referred by the Tennessee Department of Safety Driver Improvement and have the option of attending a defensive driving course in lieu of suspension of driving privileges.

The course consists of safe driving videos, lectures and a written test on Tennessee road rules and signs. It is designed to improve your driving performance by decreasing driving errors. It will also increase your knowledge of traffic laws and regulations and develop a greater sense of driving responsibility.

Cost

The cost of the course is $59 and due at registration. All classes will be held at the Macon Cove Campus.

Defensive Driving Eight (8) Hour Class Schedule
Date/Day Time Class Code Number
September 16/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17S006
October 11/Wednesday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17S007
October 12/Thursday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17S007
October 28/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17S008
November 18/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17U001
December 6/Wednesday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17U002
December 7/Thursday 5:30 p.m.-9:30 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17U002
December 16/Saturday 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. 90-4042-KSG17U003

[back to top]

Ways to Register

You must register before attending class. Walk-in registration hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. You may also register online any time before the class start date.

[back to top]

Refund Policy

There are no refunds for Defensive Driving, but your registration fee can be applied to a future section, if you notify the office at least two (2) business days prior to the class for which you registered. Only one transfer will be allowed per student, after which, the student must re-register and pay in full.

[back to top]

Accommodations and Items to Bring

ADA accommodations will be made for students with disabilities. Please call 901-333-4207 with specific information at least one week before course begins.

You must bring a pencil and a photo ID to class. Be on time, doors are locked when the class begins.

[back to top]